Free Jacks Look To Make History In Their First Ever MLR Championship Final

When: Saturday July 8, 2023 3:00pm EST

Where: SeatGeek Stadium, Bridgeview, IL

Watch: FOX, The Rugby Network (Outside US)

Match Preview:

After being crowned Eastern Conference Champions for the first time in franchise history, the Free Jacks now travel to Chicago, where they’ll face the San Diego Legion in the MLR Championship Final. New England advanced after a convincing 25-7 win against Old Glory DC last weekend at Veterans Memorial Stadium. The Free Jacks ended the regular season with a 14-2 record, their best ever, while the Legion finished with an also impressive 15-1 record.

There will be just three changes to the 23 that beat DC last week. The first one being Semisi Paea who will start at lock this week in place of Reegan O’Gorman. The rest of the pack on the other hand will remain unchanged. In the backline, Mitch Wilson will return to the wing after recovering from a prior injury. On the bench Sam Fischli will return to the squad for the final match of the MLR season as lock/flanker cover.

The Free Jacks faced San Diego back in week 2, where they lost 29-12 in a difficult encounter at Snapdragon Stadium.


The San Diego Legion beat the Seattle Seawolves 32-10 in the Western Conference final to secure a spot in the MLR final this weekend in Chicago.

The Legion are known for having a big yet dynamic pack led by players like hooker Sama Malolo and back-rower Christian Poidevin. Their backline, led by playmakers Richard Judd and Will Hooley, like to play fast and spread the ball wide to their finishers Tomas Aoke and Nate Augspurger. Lastly, All Black legend Ma’a Nonu and fullback Mikey Te’o both bring skill, power and vast experience to the midfield.

All time against San Diego


Free Jacks Match Day Roster

  1. Kianu Kereru-Symes
  2. Andrew Quattrin
  3. Joel Hintz
  4. Semisi Paea
  5. Conor Keys
  6. Mitch Jacobson
  7. Joe Johnston
  8. Wian Conradie
  9. John Poland
  10. Jayson Potroz
  11. Paula Balekana
  12. Le Roux Malan
  13. Ben LeSage
  14. Mitch Wilson
  15. Reece Macdonald
  16. Mills Sanerivi
  17. Kyle Ciquera
  18. Cole Keith
  19. Sam Fischli
  20. Cam Davidowicz
  21. Holden Yungert
  22. Spencer Jones
  23. Zach Bastres
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop